DLR Web Portal
Institute of Planetary Research
Berlin-Adlershof
Department of
Planetary Physics
Thermo-Logo
 

VIRTIS on Venus Express

Deutsche Version

The scientific goal of the European Venus Express mission is a detailed understanding of the atmosphere, its composition and dynamic, and of the mechanisms driving the greenhouse-effect on Venus.

Venus is shrouded in a thick cloud layer which hides the surface from any visual imaging. However during the Galileo-flyby a spectral window at 2.3µm in the near-infrared was used which allows to "see" down to the lowest cloud layer. Following theoretical studies have shown the existing of several spectral windows in the infrared range. The image on the right shows a comparison between Venusian topographie as derived from Pioneer Venus radar data with an image in the 2.3µm window obtained by NIMS on Galileo. Clearly visible are the "colder" mountain-tops on the "warm" lowlands.

VIRTIS (Visible and Infrared Thermal Imaging Spectrometer) on Venus Express (VEX) is an imaging spectrometer (VIRTIS-M) for the visual (0.25-1µm) and the near-infrared range (1-5µm) combined with a high resolution IR-spectromter (VIRTIS-H) for the spectral range from 2-5µm.

Our main interest in VIRTIS on Venus Express is in the use of the spectral windows to study the low atmosphere and the surface directly. Through these windows we hope to obtain "images" of the surface with a spatial resolution of approx. 50km, While the Magellan radar data has a higher spatial resolution, it allows no direct interpretation of surface composition. VIRTIS will be the first instrument to use the near-infrared atmospheric windows for for a global mapping and a global study of the surface composition. Furthermore VIRTIS on Venus Express can be used to search for direct and tell-tale signs of active vulcanism. Lava erupting from a volcano will have a higher temperature then the surrounding surface. By searching for suddenly appearing, localized hotspots VIRTIS can search directly for volcanic activity. In addition during a volcanic eruption typical gases are released. A localized enrichment of these gases would ba a tell-tale sign of active volcanism. By combination of all data VIRTIS on Venus Express will be the first instrument capable of directly studying the surface atmosphere interaction on Venus on a global scale.

The work on VIRTIS is done in close collaboration with the Optical Information Systems department at DLR Adlershof, the IRSPS in Pescara, Italy and the University of Oulo, Finland.

More details on the surface science done with VIRTIS

Contact: Dr. Jörn Helbert



Author: Dr. Jörn Helbert WWW-Editor: Till Sonnemann
Last Changes:Friday, 07-Apr-2006 15:36:18 CEST
URL of this page: http://solarsystem.dlr.de/TP/VIRTIS_en.shtml

 
VenusNIMS
Comparison of Venus radar topography obtained by Pioneer Venus (left) with a 2.3 µm near-infrared image obtained by NIMS on Galileo (right)
Source: Carlson et al. 1990

Address

Institute of Planetary Research
Department of Planetary Physics
Rutherfordstr. 2
D-12489 Berlin

Internet:  > http://www.dlr.de/pf

Head of Department

 > Prof. Dr. Doris Breuer

Related Links
 > Thermal and physical modeling of planetary surfaces
 > VIRTIS Venus Express - DLR Optical Information Systems
 > VIRTIS Venus Express - IFSI
 > VIRTIS Venus Express - CNR
 > ESA Venus Express Homepage
 > VIRTIS Surface and Surface/Atmosphere interaction working group

DLR Web Portal
Institut für Planetenforschung
Berlin-Adlershof
Abteilung
Planetenphysik
Thermo-Logo
 
VEX

VIRTIS auf Venus Express

English Version

Das wissenschaftliche Ziel der europäischen Mission Venus Express ist ein tieferes Verständnis der Atmosphäre, ihrer Zusammensetzung und Dynamik, und der Mechanismen, die den globalen Treibhaus-Effekt auf der Venus antreiben.
Die Venus ist von einer dichten Wolkenschicht umgeben, die Aufnahmen der Oberfläche im visuellen Spektralbereich unmöglich machen. Während des Galileo-Vorbeiflugs nutzte man jedoch ein spektrales Fenster bei 2.3µm, das eine direkte Beobachtung der untersten Wolkenschichten ermöglichte. Folgende theoretische Rechnungen zeigten die Existenz weiterer schmaler "spektrale Fenster" im Infrarot-Bereich. Das Bild rechts zeigt einen Vergleich zwischen der Topographie der Venus wie sie aus Radar-Beobachtungen von Pioneer Venus gewonnen wurde mit einer Aufnahme im 2.3µm Fenster durch das NIMS Instrument auf Galileo. Man sieht deutlich die "kühleren" Berge über der "warmen" Ebene.

VIRTIS (Visible and Infrared Thermal Imaging Spectrometer) auf Venus Express (VEX) ist ein abbildenes Spektrometer (VIRTIS-M) für den visuellen (0.25-1µm) und den Nahinfrarot-Bereich (1-5µm) kombiniert mit einen hochauflösenden IR-Spektrometer (VIRTIS-H) für den spektralen Bereich von 2-5µm.

Unser Interesse an VIRTIS auf Venus Epress liegt in der Nutzung der spektralen Fenster, um die untere Atmosphäre und die Oberfläche direkt untersuchen zu können. Damit sollten "Bilder" der Oberfläche mit einer Auflösung von 50km möglich sein. Während die Radarkarten z.B. von Magellan eine höhere Auflösung haben, lassen sie nur indirekte Aussagen über die Oberflächenzusammensetzung zu. VIRTIS ist das erste Instrument, dass die Infrarot-Fenster für eine globale Kartierung der Oberfläche nutzt, um damit im globalen Maßstab die Zusammensetzung der Oberfläche untersuchen zu können. Außerdem wird VIRTIS auf Venus Express direkt und indirekt nach aktiven Vulkanen auf der Oberfläche suchen. Lava das aus aktiven Vulkanen ausströmt hat eine höhere Temperatur als die Umgebung. Durch die Suche nach solchen plötzlich auftretenden, räumlich begrenzten 'hotspots' kann VIRTIS direkt Vulkanismus entdecken. Ausserdem werden bei einem Vulkanausbruch auch typische Gase freigesetzt. Eine lokale erhöhte Konzentration solcher vulkanischer Gase wäre ein indirekter Hinweis auf Vulkanismus. Durch Nutzung all dieser Informationen wird VIRTIS auf Venus Express erstmalig direkt aus dem Orbit die Wechselwirkung zwischen Oberfläche und Atmosphäre auf der Venus beobachten können.

Die Arbeit an VIRTIS auf Venus Express erfolgt in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Abteilung für Optische Informationssysteme am DLR Adlershof, der IRSPS in Pescara, Italien und der Universität Oulo, Finnland.

Auf dem Weg zu unserer höllischen Schwester - Tag der Raumfahrt 2005 (21MB)

Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen der Oberfläche mit VIRTIS (leider derzeit nur in englischer Sprache)

Kontakt: Dr. Jörn Helbert



Autor: Dr. Jörn Helbert WWW-Bearbeiter: Till Sonnemann
Letzte Änderung: Friday, 07-Apr-2006 15:35:52 CEST
URL dieser Seite: http://solarsystem.dlr.de/TP/VIRTIS_de.shtml

 
VenusNIMS
Vergleich von Venus Radar-Topographie von Pinoeer Venus (links) mit einer Aufnahme der Venus im Nah-Infrarot-Bereich von NIMS auf Galileo (rechts)
Quelle: Carlson et al. 1990

Adresse

Institut für Planetenforschung
Abteilung Planetenphysik
Rutherfordstr. 2
D-12489 Berlin

Internet:  > http://www.dlr.de/pf

Abteilungsleiterin

 > Prof. Dr. Doris Breuer

Verwandte Links
 > Thermische und physikalische Modellierung planetarer Oberflächen
 > VIRTIS Venus Express - DLR Optische Informationssysteme
 > VIRTIS Venus Express - IFSI(engl.)
 > VIRTIS Venus Express - CNR(engl.)
 > ESA Venus Express Homepage (engl.)
 > VIRTIS Surface and Surface/Atmosphere interaction working group (engl.)